European Parliament



Political groups

MEPs sit in political groups – organised not by nationality, but by political affiliation. There are currently 8 political groups in the European Parliament. Each handles its own internal organisation by appointing a chair (or two co-chairs in some groups), a bureau and a secretariat.

25 Members are needed to form a political group, coming from at least one-quarter of the Member States. MEPs may belong to only one political group.

Some MEPs do not belong to any political group and are known as non-attached Members.